THE NIGHT OF THE 3 MOONS

Bob BG Journal logo

An American in Serbia: From a Writer’s Notebook


JULY 25, 2018

WHICH ONE IS THE REAL MOON?

 

One thing I do miss in my beautiful Belgrade apartment is open sky. After living in places like Arizona, Western Australia and Hawaii for the last four decades, with skylines as wide as the horizon, I miss seeing the clouds, the stars, the moon, the sunsets, the sunrises…

Which why I go out every chance I get when the weather is nice. And last night was one of those evenings. Perfect. So I went for a short walk in my neighborhood before a meeting with a visitor at my flat.

What I did not expect was to see a nearly full moon. Correction – three moons (!) on Svetogorska Street, In fact, I had not noticed this optical illusion until I looked at the photo this morning.

Can you tell which one is the real moon?

By the way, the actual full moon will be tomorrow night:

BELGRADE: 27th July 2018 * 10:20:21 pm (CEST) 

Here are tomorrow’s full moon times in some other places around the world:

WELLINGTON = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 08:20:21 am (NZST)
SYDNEY = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 06:20:21 am (AEST)
TOKYO = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 05:20:21 am (JST)
BEIJING = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 04:20:21 am (CST)
BANGKOK = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 03:20:21 am (ICT)
DELHI = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 01:50:21 am (IST)
DUBAI = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 12:20:21 am (GST)
MOSCOW = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 11:20:21 pm (MSK)
BERLIN = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 10:20:21 pm (CEST)
LAGOS = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 09:20:21 pm (WAT)
LONDON = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 09:20:21 pm (BST)
RIO = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 05:20:21 pm (BRT)
SANTIAGO = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 04:20:21 pm (CLT)
NEW YORK = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 04:20:21 pm (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 03:20:21 pm (CDT)
CALGARY = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 02:20:21 pm (MDT)
LOS ANGELES = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 01:20:21 pm (PDT)
ANCHORAGE = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 12:20:21 pm (AKDT)
HONOLULU = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 10:20:21 am (HAST)


UPDATE JULY 27, 2018

BLOOD MOON AND RED PLANET DANCE TONIGHT

A celestial date: Yin (feminine-Moon) and Yang (masculine-Mars) join up tonight at 10:20 pm (CET)

Don’t miss tonight the longest lunar eclipse of the century!

The full moon on the night of July 27-28, 2018, presents the longest total lunar eclipse of the 21st century (2001 to 2100). The total phase of the eclipse spans 1 hour 42 minutes and 57 seconds.

That’s in contrast to the shortest total lunar eclipse of this century, which occurred on April 4, 2015, and lasted only 4 minutes and 48 seconds. And it’s in contrast to 2018’s other total lunar eclipse – on January 31, 2018 – whose totality lasted 1 hour and 16 minutes (see below for my photos of it taken in Scottsdale, Arizona).

Adding to celestial excitement tonight … this lunar eclipse will happen just as Earth is passing between the sun and Mars, placing Mars at opposition in our sky.

\In one of the sky’s most unusual “coincidences,” the Mars opposition happens on July 27, too. It’s not just any Mars opposition, but the best Mars opposition since 2003.

Tonight, the sun, Earth and moon will be aligned – placing the moon opposite the sun in our sky – producing an eclipse as Earth’s shadow falls on the moon’s face.

On the same night, the sun, Earth and Mars are also aligned, bringing Mars also opposite the sun in our sky, just like the full moon.

eclipse-7-27-2018-worldwide-map-e1531301833404

Here in Belgrade (and the rest of Europe), we should be lucky enough to see it all, rain and clouds-permitting. Not so much in North American and most of the Pacific where the eclipse will not be viewable.

For more, see… https://goo.gl/3NDzpC


Jan 31, 2018

EYEWITNESS REPORT: SUPER BLUE BLOOD MOON

From beginning to end in Scottsdale, Arizona

Elizabeth and I got up early this morning to watch this significant celestial event. Here it is, the super blue blood moon from beginning to end, as seen in Scottsdale from two different vantage points.
The photos are taken with an ordinary iPhone camera so the quality leaves a lot to be desired. But at least you’ll be able to see that the blood moon was really that color.
That beautiful shot of early dawn, taken at the end of the lunar eclipse, is a bonus.

UPDATE JULY 28, 2018

BLOOD MOON AND RED PLANET DANCE – AS SEEN AROUND THE WORLD

Did you get to see this celestial dance on Friday night? If not, here are some fascinating pictures from around the world.

For my money, the one from Lisbon, Portugal takes the cake. Henrique Feliciano Silva captured a commercial jetliner crashing the party.

The second most fascinating and artistically the most beautiful is this image of Sacra di San Michelle with the Blood Moon hovering over it like a giant balloon.

eclipse-moon-7-27-2018-Gabriella-Milani-Piemonte-Italy-e1532777975373

Here are some other interesting shots

For more, see… Beautiful photos! Full moon eclipse and Mars – https://go.shr.lc/2NT2E8d

As for ourselves in Belgrade, Serbia, we had heavy rain on and off Friday night. Still, a friend and I were able to see the waning eclipse and Mars from her balcony around 11:30 PM.

The Earth’s shadow covered about a third of the Moon at the time. Still, it was a beautiful scene with silvery clouds and the golden steeple of the Saborna Crkva (Congregational Church) in the background.

And no, I did not take a picture. Or else I would not be describing the scene. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.